Italy: TWAS-AAS-Microsoft Award for Young Scientists

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

The Prize will recognize young scientists in Africa whose research in computer science
promises to have a positive impact in the developing world. Each year, three winners will be selected from different countries on the continent. Each recipient will receive a Euro 7,000 cash award generously contributed by Microsoft.Microsoft Research, in partnership with TWAS and the African Academy of Sciences (AAS), has established the TWAS-AAS-Microsoft Award for Young Scientists for the three-year period 2009-2011 to recognize young scientists working and living in Africa whose research in computer science has had, or could have, a positive impact in the developing world.


* Each year three winners will be selected from three different African countries.
* Each winner will receive EUR 7,000, generously contributed by Microsoft Research, of which EUR 2,000 may be spent at the recipient’s discretion and EUR 5,000 shall be earmarked for further research. Each prize also carries a certificate bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded.
* The prizes will be presented to the recipients at a special ceremony to be held each year in Nairobi, Kenya, and organized by TWAS and AAS.


* Nominees can be any nationality, but must have been resident in Africa for at least two years prior to their nomination.
* Nominees must have received their most recent degree (Master’s or Ph.D.) within the previous ten years.
* Employees of TWAS, AAS and Microsoft Research as well as employees of other industry research laboratories and anyone involved in the administration of this award, are not eligible.


* Nominations are invited from national science academies, previous winners, senior academics (heads of departments, heads of universities), members of TWAS and AAS, academics invited by Microsoft.
* Self-nomination or nomination by selection committee members is not accepted.

Selection Process
The selection process will be administered by TWAS in collaboration with AAS. The assessment will be based on past achievements in the field, rather than future plans, with the exception that where two candidates are deemed to be equal, the strength of proposed research programmes may be considered to select a winner.

Inquiries and completed nomination forms for the 2009 prize (due by 15 May 2009) should be addressed to:
TWAS-AAS-Microsoft Award for Young Scientists
ICTP Campus, Strada Costiera 11
I-34014 Trieste, Italy
Phone: +39 040 2240-387
Fax: +39 040 2240-689

Be Sociable, Share!

No Comments

Post your comment comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.